Congrats 7 Day Challenge Conquerors!

Last week 563 Terps committed to stress less as part of the 7 Day Stress Less Challenge. The challenge wrapped up Oct. 28, and for its seven-day duration, participants were encouraged to enjoy an activity to relieve their stress for a minimum of 10 minutes every day.

We provided a list of 70 Ways to Stress Less at Maryland, but challengers could choose anything that worked for them and report back what they did each day online.

Each day of the challenge, participants were encouraged to think about ways to de-stess in a new dimension of wellness – emotionally (reach out), intellectually (get creative), physically (be active), vocationally (plan ahead), socially (have fun), and spiritually (reflect).

Sifting through the thousands of entries we received, we learned that Terps sure are creative when it comes to stress relief! (We also learned that quite a few of you are Taylor Swift fans and were excited about de-stressing with her new album that was released during the course of the challenge.)

Here are just a few of the ways Terps stressed less:

  • It sounds weird, but I played video games for 30 minutes. For me, to sit or meditate isn’t effective when trying to calm myself, since I can’t focus on not thinking about everything I’m stressed about unless I’m currently focusing on something specific. I play video games so that I can redirect my focus. It works!
  • I went to calm.com and did a 10 minute guided relaxation to de-stress.
  • I had a dance party in my room for about fifteen minutes!
  • Today I sat on my couch with a cup of tea and my favorite pair of fuzzy socks. I proceeded to purge my mind of all my worries, stresses, and frustrations in my journal.
  • I read the Bible and meditated on the words and its implications on my life.
  • Today I played Quidditch for Maryland Quidditch. It’s a great way for me to work out and de-stress. I’ve been on the team for three years. Maryland Quidditch is my family.
  • Today I did breathing exercises to help de-stress. After about 10 minutes of just deep breaths I felt more relaxed and calm. The things that were stressing me out seemed to just fade away after doing the exercise and I realized the unimportance of the stressing factors. My stress was not as big a deal as I had thought.
  • Today I called a friend, a friend that I have not spoken to in a while who I know is a good listener and always had been there. More than ever today I needed it. I was overly stressed because of school and talking with her really helped like it has in the past.
  • I walked the labyrinth by the Memorial Chapel between classes and I made it a point to reflect on today’s theme, spiritual wellness.
  • I reorganized my room and went through a pile of papers on my desk. I now have a good workspace to get my homework done.
  • Today, I laid down some funky bass lines.  I got home after all of my classes and, feeling stressed, I picked up my roommate’s electric bass which is in our living room.  The bass is one of the smoothest instruments and probably the most stress relieving.  It lets you forget the small things that are easy to get worked up over and just focus on what matters.  It’s all about the groove.
  • Today I listened to Edie Anderson’s Mediation Podcast to learn about some breathing techniques that would help me feel calm and relaxed.  Up until today I have never tried mediation. I did not think it would work because my mind is always wandering.  Much to my surprise I was able to relax and clear my mind of thoughts while listening to the podcast.
  • I worked out at the gym to relieve stress. A solid jog and a weight lifting session always helps me unwind.
  • I ate three square meals. Eating a balanced diet helps to keep my mood even. I suppose it has to do with blood sugar levels. I also started my morning with meditation.
  • Today I did the Focus 2 Self-Assessment in order to improve my vocational wellness. I took the personality assessment and values assessment in order to see what careers matched with each of those.
  • Today while walking to class, I repeated the Loving Kindness Meditation to myself. It goes like this:  May I be filled with loving kindness. May I be peaceful and at ease. May I be well, may I be happy.
  • I went to visit the farmer’s market during my break between classes. I didn’t know we had fresh fruit sold at UMD until today, so that was something new to learn.
  • I watched the film Tangled; it always puts me in a good mood!
  • Today I met with an advisor to talk about some things that were causing me difficulties with school and life in general. Even just talking about it and getting it out of my system was really helpful in relieving stress even if I didn’t actually completely solve any problems.
  • Watched animal planets “Too Cute” videos on YouTube.
  • I played the game Twister with friends for 20 minutes. It was fun and we laughed a lot.
  • Today, I cleaned out my email inbox. It was cluttered with hundreds of disorganized emails that dated back as far as July. As I deleted or put more emails into folders, I felt like my life was becoming less cluttered as well. At the end of it, I felt relieved because I could focus better on the few commitments that those emails reflected, rather than the overwhelming amount of emails that took up multiple pages.
  • I worked on a short story I am writing for three hours straight.

Throughout the challenge, students tweeted and posted on Facebook, sharing ideas and success with fellow participants. We will be featuring those responses in an upcoming blog series, so stay tuned!

Thank you to all students who participated and congrats to the following students who completed all 7 days of the Stress Less Challenge!

  • Rhannon Aguilar
  • Nike Alade
  • Kayla Amin
  • Samiah Anderson
  • Sarah Andrews
  • Kate Bailey
  • Megan Baker
  • Daniel Barnard
  • Preeti Bhargava
  • Naomi Bilmes
  • Mélanie Bloch
  • Nelly Boishin
  • Ann Michelle Bolabo
  • Michelle Brauer
  • Melissa Breiner
  • Melissa Brennan
  • Danielle Buccine
  • Dani Buffa
  • Sydney Callahan
  • Megan Callow
  • Kyra Cappelucci
  • Amy Carpenter
  • Jasmine Carter
  • Heidi Celebi
  • Lourdes Celius
  • Cierra Chavis
  • Ching Chen
  • Jack Chen
  • Jung- Hsuan Chen
  • Yi Chen
  • Nisha Chikhale
  • Meagan Chisholm
  • Lina Chung
  • Priscilla Chung
  • Jamie Coffie
  • Laura Colin
  • Zana Cranmer
  • Haley Crock
  • Danya Czarnolewski
  • Leah Daniel
  • Courtney Davis
  • Brian Deane
  • Shivana Dinally
  • Jeffrey Dowell
  • Sarah Eason
  • Angelica Eng
  • Stephen Ernst
  • Christina Esqueu
  • Samirna Esteve
  • Kelsey Farina
  • Erin Fisher
  • Luke Fisher
  • Malika Fontes
  • Jessica Ford
  • Angela Forest
  • Samantha Forster
  • Colleen Frances
  • Angela Fu
  • Ariana Garcia
  • Allison Giza
  • Melissa Goble
  • Genna Gold
  • Amy Goudreau
  • Marshalle Grody
  • Yael Gross
  • Ashli Haggard
  • Jayaram Hariharan
  • Chris Hawkins
  • Ross Heise
  • Elizabeth Honeywell
  • Brian Horowitz
  • Lauren Houser
  • Ashley Huang
  • Ann Marie Huisentruit
  • Brooke Hyman
  • Caroline Hyneman
  • Chris Imbriano
  • Katherine Jameson
  • Denae Johnson
  • Brooke Jordan
  • Jayashree Kadirvelu
  • Allen Kao
  • Marissa Katz
  • Caroline Keeshen
  • Sahar Khan
  • Hyo Kim
  • Kristen King
  • Holly Klenkel
  • Jocelyn Knazik
  • Michael Kong
  • Anna Koozmin
  • Shira Krimsky
  • Renee Kunar
  • Faith Kung
  • Warner Lai
  • Heather Lam
  • Louis Lam
  • Yaelle Lamkyes
  • Holly Lange
  • Brad Larson
  • Ryan Lee-Young
  • Allison Levin
  • Shevaun Lewis
  • Yelena Leznik
  • Shen Li
  • Kristi Licare
  • Chien-Hung Lin
  • Jenna Line
  • Katelyn Lippitt
  • Heng Liu
  • Jermaine Lyn
  • Emily Ma
  • Jennifer Macko
  • Annette Majanja
  • Triana McCorkle
  • Amanda McCrum
  • Kate McGinnis
  • Rachel McGrain
  • Elizabeth McLellan
  • Kathleen McPartland
  • Sarah Minneman
  • Taylor Mitchell
  • Frederick Moki
  • Sidra Montgomery
  • Taylor Myers
  • Sharvani Naik
  • Vy Ngo
  • Dustin Nguyen
  • Tammy Nguyen
  • Emma Nguyen
  • Milena Nikolova
  • Takako Nishimura
  • Dorcas Olawuni
  • Norma Oldfield
  • Brandyn Phillips
  • Angela Pontorno
  • Zhujun Qing
  • Christopher Quach
  • Linda Quach
  • Meghan Quinn
  • Alma Rashid
  • Sydney Richards
  • Alexis Robinson
  • Catherine Robinson
  • Jennifer Robinson
  • Eva Rodezno
  • Selena Roper
  • Brittany Rosenthal
  • Anna Roth
  • Emily Rueger
  • Daniel Rutherford
  • Salina Sarma
  • Brandon Schatt
  • Jonathan Schehr
  • Anjana Sekaran
  • Lisa Serafino
  • Kathleen Seski
  • Vicky Shi
  • Nicole Shyong
  • Marissa Sileo
  • Matthew Simon
  • Zara Simpson
  • Erin Smith
  • Alyssa Snider
  • Francesca Spano
  • Elizabeth Spencer
  • Fahad Syed
  • Stacey Tavis
  • Laura Tenbus
  • Meyana Thorne
  • Leslie Tillman
  • Crysta Tran
  • Tammy Tran
  • Diane Travis
  • Inn Tsys
  • Ben Tunick
  • Crystal Varkalis
  • Osca Velasco
  • Mudit Verma
  • Molly Vimini
  • Sapna Virdy
  • Huong Vu
  • Becca Wagman
  • Anna Waller
  • Tessa Walls
  • Katherine Walsh
  • Lisa Walsh
  • Tamara Walsky
  • Lei Wang
  • Nate Washuta
  • Danielle Wentz
  • Will Wieprecht
  • Freddy Witarsa
  • Jennifer Wivell
  • Claire Wray
  • Wangshu Wu
  • Ning Xie
  • Abigia Yitagesu
  • Ashley Zhan
  • Heather Zion

The winner of the Grand Prize drawing for a Kindle Fire HD is Chris Hawkins. Congratulations, Chris!

We also entered all SGA-recognized student organizations who registered at least 10 members into a drawing for a $100 award. The winner of that award is the Vietnamese Student Association. Thank you to all student organizations who supported this program!

This entry was posted in Keep Calm and Stress Less, Wellness Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

