My First Cool Find as an Intern

By: Erika Monroe ’15, University Health Center CHOICES Intern

530450_199361320184126_1869196291_n

As an intern in the Health Center, I come across some really cool health stuff. But eCHECKUP TO GO has to be one coolest!

How does it work?
You go to the eCHECKUP TO GO website and you can pick whether you want to assess your alcohol or marijuana use. I picked alcohol. The website asks you for your gender, age, and a few other demographic questions and then gives you a random ID code (which makes this totally confidential). Keep this code, you will need it to see your results. The website says that it will take about 15-20 minutes to complete, it took me about 10 minutes. I was amazed by how easy it was to do.

Then what?
The program provided me with totally personalized data based on my drinking habits. In my results, I was given:

  • my own drinking pattern
  • my personal drinking profile
  • my own personal Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) chart
  • my personal risk score
  • my perceived tolerance level
  • how much money I spend on alcohol in a year compared to my overall income (yikes!)

The program also provided me with data about my alcohol use in comparison to other students. I was surprised at at the number of misconceptions I had regarding drinking on campus.

As the intern in the drug and alcohol education office on campus, I think this is a really important program to share with my fellow Terps. Whether or not you choose to consume alcohol, are looking for more information on the impact of alcohol on the body, or even just wondering how you compare with other Terps, the free and confidential eCHECKUP TO GO program is a great resource!

So the next time your find yourself with a free 20 minutes in-between class or Netflix marathons, complete eCHECKUP TO GO! If you would like to talk with someone about your feedback form, contact the Substance Use Intervention & Treatment Unit of the University Health Center at 301-314-8106 or Health Promotion & Wellness Services at 301-314-8123.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

